Saturday, October 18, 2008

Mos Def - Black on Both Sides

Black on Both Sides is an alternative rap album by Mos Def, released on October 12, 1999. Intended as a return to the roots of hip hop, the album was hailed as a classic soon after its release, and went on to ship Gold in sales. The album's blend of socio-political rhymes with jazz and other unusual sources of samples endeared Mos Def to listeners uninterested in gangsta rap.

In keeping with his goal of restoring hip-hop's sociopolitical consciousness, Def's lyrics are as intelligent and thoughtfully crafted as one would expect, but he doesn't stop there — he sings quite passably on several tracks, plays live instruments on others (including bass, drums, congas, vibraphone, and keyboards), and even collaborates on a string arrangement. In short, Black on Both Sides is a tour de force by an artist out to prove he can do it all.

Its ambition and execution rank it as one of the best albums of 1999, and it consolidates Mos Def's position as one of hip-hop's brightest hopes entering the 21st century.

1. Fear Not of Man
2. Hip Hop
3. Love
4. Ms. Fat Booty
5. Speed Law
6. Do It Now (feat. Busta Rhymes)
7. Got
8. Umi Says
9. New World Water
10. Rock N Roll
11. Know That (feat. Talib Kweli)
12. Climb (feat. Vinia Mojica)
13. Brooklyn
14. Habitat
15. Mr. Nigga
16. Mathematics
17. May - December

Rating 9/10

Download Link :

Amazon :

Mos Def - Hip Hop

Mos Def - Umi Says


monkeyboxing said...

EZ guv! 'Black On Both Sides'! btw - i'm running
(on which you have a link!) any chance you could sort me one out - or chnage the url on the one you already put up for me? many thanks in advance.

NuEtik said...

You've got a nice blog too. "Umi says" is so magic...