Saturday, July 18, 2009

Mos Def - The Ecstatic

The Ecstatic is the fourth solo album from New York MC, Mos Def.

In live shows Mos Def performed new songs from the album before its release. Crowds had heard tracks produced by Madlib and Oh No (Madlib’s younger brother). The album features collaborations with Slick Rick, Talib Kweli and Georgia Anne Muldrow, as well as production by Mr. Flash and the late J Dilla.The first single off the album is 'Life in Marvelous Times', the second single is 'Quiet Dog Bite Hard', and the third single is 'Casa Bey'. The song 'Casa Bey' was recently made into an official music video that was released via Mos Def's Myspace page. The album cover is taken from Charles Burnett's 1977 film, Killer of Sheep.

The Ecstatic debuted at #2 in mp3-format album sales on, and #9 on the Billboard 200, but fell to #29 in its second week. On June 18, 2009, Mos Def stated that he will start selling the album by T-shirts sometime in July 2009 with a code on the tag, which will be used to download off the Internet for free.

1. Supermagic
2. Twilite Speedball
3. Auditiorium Ft. Slick Rick
4. Wahid
5. Priority
6. Quiet Dog Bite Hard
7. Life In Marvelous Times
8. The Embassy
9. No Hay Nada Mas
10. Pistola
11. Pretty Danger
12. Workers Comp.
13. Revelations
14. Roses Ft. Georgia Anne Muldrow
15. History Ft. Talib Kweli
16. Casa Bey

Rating 9/10

Download Link :

Mos Def Breaking Down His New Album

Mos Def - The Ecstatic (Album Snippets)

Mos Def and The Roots perform "Casa Bey" at The Jam NYC

1 comment:

Londonchica said...

Audotrium with the madlib instrumental..mad sexy